Refinishing a Table….

19 Aug

There is a story behind this one. Rob and i were in need of a bigger table, the one that i have (and love) was just too small. it worked for the old apartment…

IMG_5476

….this was after one of our Costco adventures..

so then i heard that my cousin Shalimar has an extra table that they aren’t using. this very table is actually one that my parents used to own. one that my family ate dinner at almost every night. it ended up being just the type we were looking for. how perfect right?! so we went over to her house and swooped it up.

IMG_5757

we decided to stain it a darker color – so we began the process sanding. did you guys know that sanding sucks? yeah, it pretty much does. i crapped out after i got the first layer off the top. then rob roped me back in for the legs.

IMG_5784

Bella didn’t like it either…

IMG_5785

once the sanding was done, it was time to stain…

IMG_5791

IMG_5792

IMG_5793

IMG_5806

IMG_5805

IMG_5809

Stay tuned for the rest of the project coming next week! Im off to Utah tomorrow to visit some crazy aunts and uncles  -i cant wait!!

8 Responses to “Refinishing a Table….”

  1. Mom August 19, 2009 at 6:56 pm #

    Well …good to see that it has found another nice home to share its meals with…can’t wait to see the finished project..

  2. AUNT RAYLEEN August 19, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    nice sanding . the stain looks great too . i can ‘t wait to see the finish. what about chairs?????or do you just serve buffet style?

  3. Bob and Nancy Walton August 20, 2009 at 5:29 am #

    Hey I remember the days of sanding and minwax staining and I remember eating at that table. Any odds and ends chairs will go with it. I recommend a variety of colors…whatever! Who are the crazy aunts and uncles in Utah? Let me see could they be???
    See you later today, in Utah, crazy niece, Noelle.
    xxoo
    Aunt Nancy

  4. Bob and Nancy Walton August 20, 2009 at 5:31 am #

    ps where are you going to put that very special/cute old table….I hope it finds a cozy place in your new home.
    A N

  5. noelle August 20, 2009 at 5:30 pm #

    well, we know ONE of them is for sure crazy….

  6. noelle August 21, 2009 at 3:34 am #

    Which one…oh!
    I think I resemble that remark…
    Love you,
    Aunt Nancy

  7. aaronleeds August 26, 2009 at 12:51 pm #

    You no what sucks…but should be of no surprise, I don’t remember that table at all, so it looks GRRRReat. Of corse I was never there for the most part at dinner time anyway, my table was the microwave stand…..hmmmm maybe that is why I hate left-overs well I don’t hate them, I just usually leave nothing on the plate, kinda like a dog:), Love ya

  8. mothersandothers August 28, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    I’m definitely going to be needing that table back.

Leave a Reply

