Spring It Up…

6 Apr

I’m trying to think of new things to do while Rob is at school, so I don’t just sit on the couch all day. Since the weather has been so warm lately I thought I’d do a project. I’ve been wanting to change our coffee table for a long time. Actually, I wanted to get a new one but Rob said I cant (boo!). So the other day I happened to see a coffee table that had the same feel as mine and I loved what it looked like.

So let’s just get started on removing the paint. You might remember how much I hated sanding in this post. This time I wanted to try a paint remover. I went to Home Depot and picked up some “eco friendly” paint remover and got to work…

Just paint on and come back in 30 min to scrape off…

what sucked was all these little areas where the stuff got stuck in…

I then used an after wash to get all the leftover remover off…

After that I stained the top. This was after 2 coats, and I thought it looked horrible…..

So I just painted the whole thing…

After 2 coats of paint I lightly brushed on some of the stain…

Then I rubbed it off..

After a few thousand coats of poly here’s the new and improved coffee table!

6 Responses to “Spring It Up…”

  1. nikki April 6, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    Great job!!!! Liking the tint of blue.

  2. Mom April 8, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    WAX ON WAX OFF… hehe, It looks great.! Love that miss Bella got in the picture too.

  3. Carolee April 8, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    I liked the table before,but now I love it.It looks so good in your room with the other hints of blue.Good Job!!

  4. Shal April 11, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    It turned out so stinkin’ good! Let’s do mine next??

  5. cristyleeds April 16, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    You are a girl after my own heart, I love the robins egg color.

  6. thelesages April 16, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    i got a whole gallon cuz i loved the color and rob was all mad about it! haha

Leave a Reply

