The Birth Of Penelope Mae…

12 Apr

I went into labor at 10pm Friday night (April 1st). We had just gotten back from dinner with the Littles after taking my belly pictures. I noticed that my back pressure was getting stronger than normal. I had been having a little back pressure with my Braxton Hicks for a while. But this was different. I let Robert know and we just kept on with our night, both thinking in the back of our heads – this could be it!!

As the night went on the pain was increasing, we both knew it had begun. Robert went to work prepping the bedroom and pumping up the pool. He also had to come back to me every time I had a contraction because I needed him to push in my lower back as hard as he could. Around 1 or 2 in the morning we called the midwife to tell her it was on and to head out. I labored through the rest of the morning with Robert by my side. He was awesome – calm, and attentive.

Our midwife and her team got here around 10:30 (I think) on Saturday morning. She checked me and I was at 6-7 centimeters. YES! I was so happy that I was able to power through for that long!! The tub was filled and I got in. The water helped sooth the contractions. I was in the water for about an hour when my water broke, I thought for a second that Penny just shot right out of me! hahah- ya right! At that point I started feeling strong pushing contractions, so I just let my body do it’s job and rode along. My midwife checked me again and I was at 8 centimeters. She had me reach down and feel the top of Penny’s head coming out – that was awesome but also kinda scared me. I thought ” there’s no way im gonna be able to push her out!!” After a few reassuring words from everyone my midwife had me get out of the tub and go to the bathroom. I had my strongest contractions while I was in there.

She then wanted me to get up and walk around to have gravity help. As I started walking out a contraction came and we all knew I was nearing the end. Robert held my weight as I powered through a couple more contractions. Then, she came sliding out! We just couldn’t believe it! She was handed right to me and I looked at her and she was looking at Robert and I. It was the most amazing moment to FINALLY meet her!

Our  family was here and waiting outside, they got to hear her take her first cry!

7lbs  13oz  21″

After both of us got checked out and taken care of the family got to come in and meet Miss Penny. I stayed in bed that whole day just holding and loving her. It was wonderful!!

Settling down for our first night as a family…

As the days have gone by we have had many happy visitors and everybody has helped out and taken care of us – we are sooo thankful for our families!

Addi tried on Penny’s hat, but it didn’t fit very well…

 

Sweet treats made with love…

So far the mother role has suited me well. I love taking care of her and sleeping with her. I sit in bed at night just staring at her in the dark. She doesn’t cry a whole lot – pretty much when she wants food or needs a clean diaper. She nurses all the time – and I don’t mind.

Robert is doing a great job at being a dad too. He’s so in love with his little daughter! I can’t wait to see her personality grow over the next few weeks!

9 Responses to “The Birth Of Penelope Mae…”

  1. Kelly April 12, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    So glad she is here and everyone is happy and healthy! It took me a little while to read this post with Addi but she was amazingly calm when photos of her were on the screen, already vain!

  2. noelle April 12, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    well she’s cute, so she can pull of vain! hahah

  3. Natalee April 13, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Oh my goodness, she is beautiful! What an amazing experience for everyone (but you know, especially you). wishing many blessings for you all!!

  4. Anonymous April 13, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Beautiful family with beautiful memories in the making. How blessed you all are. Penelope is a sweet pea! Looking forward to meeting her!
    Love,
    Aunt Nancy

  5. mom April 13, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    These are all so beautiful! You and Robert are going to enjoy each and every moment to come. Noelle, Only you could be smiling during a contraction..hahaha…Penelope Mae, you have really amazing parents..We are all blessed..love you!!!

  6. Cheryl April 14, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    She is just the the cutest little girl. You made it sound like the whole experience was the
    quickest, easiest thing in the world. She is so lucky to have you two for parents!
    Love’
    Cheryl

  7. Lauren Bahler April 14, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Beautiful photos of a beautiful mother and a gorgeous baby. Im so happy for your new addition to your family. Can’t wait to meet her.

  8. Phyllis April 16, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Well done! I do miss your watermelon belly, though.

  9. Lorilee Inlow April 28, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    Thanks for sharing the very special day..many blessings, hey Kris loves chocolate peanut butter ice cream too!

Leave a Reply

